Dell: Netbook Satisfaction Short Lived

by

Michael Dell has come out to say that customers who buy netbooks tend to enter a dissatisfaction period within two days of making the purchase. Strong words from the head of a company selling netbooks.

Dell Logo

According to The Register, Dell’s founder and CEO, Michael Dell said of the current netbook boom that users picking up a netbook for the first time will start to be dissatisfied with the purchase by around 36 hours after they start using it. Moreover, Dell seems to think that the current trend towards netbooks will be coming to an end soon as users trend back towards high-performance machines.

Dell’s exact words on the move from a notebook to a netbook were, “If you take a user who’s used to a 14 or 15-inch notebook and you say ‘Here’s a 10-inch netbook,’ they’re gonna say, ‘Hey, this is so fantastic. It’s so cute. It’s so light. I love it.’ But about 36 hours later they’re saying, ‘The screen’s gonna have to go. Give me my 15-inch screen back.’”

If nothing else, it’s interesting to see Michael Dell come out so strongly against the netbook, considering the fact that it turns out that netbooks are so very popular that their low cost is now having a pronounced effect on the mobile computing market. Dell seems to believe that’s a trend that won’t last, claiming that the company is seeing people’s interest return to high-performance systems over the portability and low cost of netbooks.

It’ll be interesting to see if that trend comes to fruition, especially with ION powered netbooks (like the Samsung N510) starting to hit. There are higher-performance netbook options out there for those willing to make the spend, so whether or not the push for performance is a push away from netbooks is kind of up in the air.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Dell: Netbook Satisfaction Short Lived”

  1. Rob Allen Says:

    Yep, its performance and OS choice, I think people felt a bit hard done by when they got either XP or a Linux distro they did not understand or ever see, then when they finally tried to play HD video on it from youtube they prob got really pissed off.

    I am an Avid Win 7 user, I have a lenovo s10e , and the major issue for me is that app developers never check to see if their app would be usable on a netbook screen. I like the fact that Nokia seems to have a dream spec there with their netbook , but I will reserve judgement.

  2. Wizartar Says:

    I’d agree with him, as I type this in on my iTouch. The prices are great but the screen size is too small to use for long periods of time. They’re too large to be really portable like an iPhone or touch. They’re mostly a fad at impulse price level. They are more of niche Market then general device.

  3. Rob Allen Says:

    Dunno mate, I put a 6 cell into my Lenovo and I have done a lot of work from it, great for updating , chatting , social networking and a fantastic little thing for conferences, not if it had gps and an in built 3G it would be the only machine I bring with me.

    I have a 12GB Intel i7 Desktop machine (bought all parts from Komplett, er, do I get any price) so I get my power fix with that. But other times I just want a small nippy device I can run out the door with !

    • Wizartar Says:

      Over the years I’ve used 17, 15, 12 (iBook), and 7.5 Eee. Apart from the Eee PC a laptop backpack is their mode of transport so size doesn’t make much of a different nor the weight. Weight, unless really heavy isn’t noticeable on my back, more of a shoulder carrying issue IMO. So when traveling 12-17 doesn’t make much different.

      My issue with the sub <10” netbooks are the handling. I can pickup my iTouch anywhere and start typing a message very quickly, then stick it back in my pocket. While a netbook needs some space to reset while typing so normally have to be sitting. I’ve always like small handheld devices, I used a Palm IIIc for close to two years for work. So the iTouch is like the ultimate upgrade for me. Would love an iPhone, other for the crazy prices and I already have to carry around a work phone 24/7, yeah they won’t get me a iPhone 😦 life sucks!

      Gaming, Quad Core 2 @ 3.2GHz (oc’ed of course) 8GB only and 4870×2. As a powerhouse it’s getting a little long in the tooth but until i5 / i7 & DDR3 become mid-range I’m going to be more then happy with it as mostly I play consoles now.

  4. John Says:

    Like what you did. Wishing you a very happy and prosperous new year !

Leave a Reply

