Dell Shows Off World’s Thinnest Notebook

by

Dell has revealed some of the more interesting details of its upcoming Adamo XPS, which looks to be its own entry into the “ultrathin” category that Microsoft seems to think is going to oust netbooks and become the next big thing.

Dell Adamo

I can't even tell you why I want one... I just do.

Dell has taken plenty of time over the last two months or so to show us some attractive of pictures but it’s only now revealing any real details of what we can expect to see from its upcoming Adamo XPS. The Adamo is physically fairly stunning, but the news that it’s just 9.7mm thick and weighs in at 1.4KG is even more unusual than it’s strange hinge/stand arrangement.

As for its actual specifications, the Adamo boasts a 1.4GHz Core 2 Due and fully 4GB of RAM. For your trouble you’ll also get Wireless-N support as you’d expect, but also Bluetooth and two USB ports. It also boasts a 128GB solid-state drive, so it’s fair enough to say that the Adamo XPS hasn’t compromised on the performance side to fit everything into its relatively tight body.

Of course, the real question on most people’s minds having read stats like that and seen how good the hardware looks is always going to be just how much it’ll cost… the fact is we don’t know how much it’ll cost when it hits Europe, but we can make an educated guess. The US launch is set for “some time before Christmas” at $1800, which puts the machine at just a shade over €1200, which is actually fairly palatable.

The unspoken comparison is, naturally, to Apple’s MacBook Air, and its one in which the Adamo comes out looking quite well. It’s impressive that Dell has done so much with the design of the Adamo that the two will be immediately identifiable, because let’s face it, ultrathins tend to look quite similar. We’ll be curious to see when the Adamo appears in Ireland…

I’ll have to dream up reasons not to buy one 😦

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Dell Shows Off World’s Thinnest Notebook”

  1. Barry Says:

    Reasons not to buy one…I think I can help you, my XPS was a big mistake, it looked great had a super spec so I went for it despite others in the IT field telling me to stay away.

    It does look well, nice spec, but I don’t think its for me, like the dell one 24, I love the system it would look great in my sitting room….but don’t think I will be buying Dell again, sure its just one opinion but when you spend 1300EURO on a top of the range laptop you expect to get some time out of it, the only thing it does now is keep me warm at night as it over heats….the charger has been replaced twice, the wireless card is awful, I could be here for ever….oh no more Dells for me.

    (I’m still tempted though ;))

    • komplettie Says:

      Oh Barry, the difference between you and I seems to be that you’ve had the negative experience already, where I’ve only heard bad stuff about Dell second hand 😦

      I think this might be a lesson best learned the soft way 😉

  2. Mini Notebook Says:

    nice article..

Leave a Reply

