Competition Time Again

by

Good afternoon all, hopefully we find you well on this fine and, increasingly snowy, afternoon. Anyway, since people really seemed to like our last competition, we’ve decided to run another one to ring in the new year.

Lego builds are A) Ridiculous and B) Fantastic

This competition is a lot simpler than our last one, where we were offering a graphics card for the person who came up with the best build for under €500 , this time we’re offering some free bits and pieces we’ve got from some of our suppliers, ranging from the genuinely quite nice (a genuinely quite nice hat from Gainward) to the frankly a bit strange (an Intel travel mug). If you’d like more details you can check out our forum over at Boards.ie.

Aside from that, all you have to do to be in with a chance to win something is tell us about those tentative first steps that led to your first building or upgrading a PC. It’s a relatively simple one, and it shouldn’t take long at all, but it’s mostly all about getting in there and having a bit of a chatter about something that most of us will have done or tried to do at least once or twice over the last few years.

It’s also a chance for the older hobbyists to give out to the younger hardware enthusiasts. We’re hoping for choice phrases, like, “Graphics card? Graphics card!? In my day, we played the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in text, as God intended!”

Anyway, the prizes are just small things, but the whole thing should be a bit of fun. With any luck, we’ll get some interesting stories out of you guys and we can all have a laugh about our youthful naiveté

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Competition Time Again”

  1. Calum Says:

    The closest I ever came to building my own was replacing a hard drive in some old no-name box my wife had. When I turned it back on, it exploded in a puff of smoke. I’ve stuck to Macs since then.

    • komplettie Says:

      Haha, I have to say I’ve never managed to completely kill something, but I know that one day I will. In the interim, I use a Mac myself, so we have that much in common 😉

  2. Dave Says:

    I built my first computer from scratch in February, and that was because of the recession. I wanted a machine to last me years, but didn’t want it to cost the Earth. So I made it myself!

    The first time I upgraded my PC was increasing the RAM on a 486DX2/66. No smoke or scares, but when I was finished I was rocking 24MB of RAM and thought it was the quickest thing EVER! Those were the days… 🙂

    • komplettie Says:

      Silly as it seems, it’s nice to see someone else with a similar memory from the days when an extra few MB of RAM made all the difference in the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

